Hello Atlanta!

Tomorrow is my first official day of work in my new position as an Associate Professor with Emory University’s Department of Environmental Sciences. The US border service let me through last week without a hitch – I had already spent a few weeks earlier in August in the Atlanta area though, so am starting to get somewhat settled and become familiar with my neighbourhood. I’m delighted to have had this offer at Emory and am really looking forward to the new position. The warm weather here in Atlanta is a real bonus too after the cold, grey summer in the UK.

I don’t have any teaching in the Autumn term, so if any students are reading this, feel free to chase me down to ask questions about Spring term courses (senior undergraduate / MSc joint offerings in [1] environmental economics and [2] the environmental science-policy interface). I’m always looking for students to help in research projects and have some possibilities available that would draw on existing datasets – Mekong basin household fishing survey results; results from a pharmaceutical and personal care products in the environment survey; and a couple of other possibilities (in addition to specific project you may want to work on).

For my transition to Emory, I do have funds available for two years of post-doctoral research support; the posting for that position should be out by mid-September. See the Opportunities tab for more information on the position, which I anticipate will focus on ‘Big Text’ analysis (text mining and quantitative analysis to advance environmental policy theory and evaluation, with specific problems to address to be refined depending on the interests of the post-doc that is hired).

Leave a Reply

